Exhale

After a frantic two weeks of casting, sourcing and organizing every aspect, my final exam/photoshoot for Styling class finally took place yesterday. It was the first time that I was solely responsible for a shoot including theme and mood board creation, model casting, hair and makeup concepts, as well as pulling for each look and executing on the day of. Back in April I had the pleasure of working with Alicia¬†on a Spring Trends piece for Metrotown at Metropolis x The Province (check out Alicia’s recap and cute video here), which was a great intro into the world of styling. I wouldn’t say this experience made my own shoot flawless or stress-free, but having a little background about the process definitely took the edge off.

After finishing class at 1 pm on the dot, seven of us made our way over to the neighbouring Curlique to begin set up and start with hair and makeup. I had the pleasure of working with extremely talented Vancouver photographer Matthew Burditt, who truly made the shooting experience painless. Between Matthew, my amazing model Jess, and some incredible makeup and hair by fellow Blanche student Naureen, I couldn’t help but smile as my concepts came to life. In fact, one of my classmates told me after I was like an adorable ‘show mom’ while watching my second shoot- practically bouncing up and down with giddiness and grinning like a dummy as Jess jumped around in her pop-art inspired outfit.

It was a truly amazing experience and I couldn’t have done it without my team on the day of, as well as my dear friend Michelle and our Styling instructor Tyler. Thanks everyone; you’re wonderful.

PS. Stay tuned for shoot pics, I can’t wait to share some in the next few weeks!

3 thoughts on “Exhale

  1. I cant wait to see the pics either – great work, love!

  2. This blog was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found
    something that helped me. Cheers!

  3. Hello very cool web site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful ..
    I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally?
    I am glad to search out so many useful information right here in the post, we’d like develop more techniques on this regard, thank you for
    sharing. . . . . .

Leave a Reply

