The Vintage Topper

DSC_0883 - Copy

Vintage cape; J.Crew sweater, pixie pant, necklace; Winners button up; Aldo boots; Miro watch

Like politics and religion, fur is one of those things that people feel very strongly about. Without making this too much of a debate, I’ll say straight out that I don’t see anything wrong with fur as long as (as with everything else) it’s done responsibly. It’s for this reason that I’ve casually been scouting vintage shops (rather than furrier stores) for the past couple of years for the perfect fur vest to accent my fall wardrobe. I finally found the perfect topper last week at Community Thrift & Vintage down in Gastown and couldn’t be happier. I love that it’s kind of a mix between a cape and stole; easy to throw on, but comes down on my shoulders to give more of a jacket vibe. And pockets! Always love pockets. I don’t think I’ve ever felt so posh.

DSC_0872 - Copy

DSC_0882 - Copy

DSC_0874 - Copy

DSC_0878 - Copy

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “The Vintage Topper

  1. writingbolt says:

    The fur does nothing for you other than compliment the boots and watchband. But, the rest of the look/outfit I do indeed like. Very “preppy sophisticate”. Down to the matching nail polish and watch face:)

  2. Meesh says:

    I couldnt disagree more with the above comment. Your vintage fur is fantastic and ads great texture and intrigue to your ensemble! <3 True, brown does go with brown, but that's hardly the point. True style is about working layers, textures, and aspects of yourself and what you find beautiful – which is exactly what you did. :) Although your nail polish and watch face match, that was just a happy coincidence! Your personality, charm, and the effortless chicness of your style way you carry yourself in life is what makes this outfit such a knock out. The amount of people who can throw on a casual fur vest/shrug/pocketed dream, are few and far between!

    Your beauty is inside and out m'lady!

  3. Sandra says:

    I agree! Style is being able to look effortless and chic. You accomplished it! I salute your style…. Love the vintage fur vest……

Leave a Reply

