Spontaneity

I am not a very spontaneous person. I thrive on lists and love nothing more than finishing the day with a nice long checklist of which I’ve completed every ‘to-do’ item (if I do something extra I may or may not add it to the list just so I can cross it off… and by may or may not I mean I do it every time). But, despite my hyper-organizational tendencies, there is something to say for throwing caution (and plans) to the wind and just going with something. Back in July I took an impromptu day trip to Victoria and it was one of the funnest days I had all summer. A couple of hours ago I upped the ante and bought a concert ticket (to The LUMINEERS!!!) after seeing that a friend posted on Facebook that he was going. It’s not like I have nothing to do today- two final projects are still looming before I start the new semester next Monday- but sometimes you need to say “screw it” (or something more vulgar rhyming with ‘truck it’) and just go for broke. I know that next week, next month, next year, I’m going to remember the concert, and not the potential all-nighter I’ll have to pull to finish these assignments.

When was the last time you were spontaneous?

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

