The Interview

DSC_0241 - Copy

Gap button down, crewneck sweater; Nixon watch; H&M floral trousers, necklace, envelope clutch; J.Crew scarf; Zara trench coat; custom loafers; Vancouver Olympics padfolio notebook

Ah, the interview; a phrase sure to strike fear into every young adult, new grad, and unemployed individual. I too used to cringe at the thought of them, but after four years of extensive prep and practice (thanks Peter B!) I’m now confident, cool, and collected when posed with a flurry of self-awareness questions. (“My greatest weakness is that I’m a perfectionist!” Yeah… Don’t say that.) My favorite part of interview prep is always the outfit planning and I thought it might be fun to share my thought process for picking out the above ensemble for a recent meeting at J.Crew.

As I was applying for a job in a creative industry I decided to punch up a classic button-down/crewneck look with some bold prints. With the floral trousers as my focus, I chose a subtle grey checked shirt and a polka-dot scarf to mix with the more basic trench and sweater, and went with polished flats and a simple clutch to round out my look. I also went with a simple watch and a bright necklace to break up the grey on grey and tie in with the colourful floral print. The most important thing for interview dressing is to wear something that is reflective of the position and company, but also showcases a bit of your personal style. My goal here was to show my bright personality and affinity for menswear-details, while still staying true to the branding of J.Crew.

What do you think? Did I hit it on the mark?

DSC_0271

DSC_0254

DSC_0257

DSC_0262

DSC_0259

PS. Happy Friday!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Interview

  1. visualisa says:

    the top w the necklace and sweather? yes yes yes! :)

Leave a Reply

