Weekend Getaway Part I

DSC_0137

Clockwise from top: H&M weekender bag; Zara scarf, trench; Estee Lauder make-up bag; Ray Ban sunnies; Dolce Vita boots; American Eagle jeans; Jacob belts; custom loafers (from Vietnam!); Gap leggings; tank top; H&M bracelet; Michael Kors watch; H&M necklace; Club Monaco necklace; custom button-down; J.Crew crewneck; Gap cardigan

One of my very favourite things about going away is the planning and packing involved before you even leave home. While unpacking is a completely different story (depressing, really), I love the process of picking items and creating outfits for a specific destination. Whether it’s for a casual weekend to Victoria, a weeklong vacation in Cuba, or a five-month trip to SE Asia, every time I think about packing my blood starts to flow just a little bit faster. On Sunday morning I jetted off to Cranbrook, BC for a long-overdue visit with my parents and grandparents, and decided to share my essentials for a little weekend trip.

I always try to pack items that I can mix and match; basic shapes and a cohesive colour palette ensure that this is always possible. I could wear the button down on its own, with the cardigan, or layered under the burgundy crew neck, and any of these could be worn in combination with the jeans or leggings, and either the loafers or boots. This gives a number of looks with varying levels of casualness, fit for any occasion that a weekend with the (grand)parents could throw at me. I also like to bring a few pieces of jewelry (and a signature watch) to further change and elevate my outfits. As they teach you in business school, keep is simple, stupid!

DSC_0150

DSC_0162

DSC_0161

DSC_0193

PS. Stay tuned for Parts II & III!

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Weekend Getaway Part I

  1. I hope you had a great weekend, love!

Leave a Reply

