Just Another Best Dressed List

Charlize Theron

Charlize Theron

So this tiny event went down last night in Hollywood where a bunch of celebrities put on their best and headed to the Kodak Theatre to watch Anne Hathaway win the Oscar for best supporting actress (we all saw that coming right?). Despite the predictable outcome for that award, the show still held some surprises. What up, Jennifer Lawrence! I would love nothing more than to be that girl’s best friend. Seriously, look at her in the press room after winning.

Anyway, as it always goes with awards shows some ladies showed up looking better than others. My personal favourite for the night was definitely Charlize Theron in Dior. Although  it was somewhat reminiscent of Anne Hathaway’s Chanel number from the Globes, I thought it had enough of an edge to stand out on it’s own. Aside from Miss Theron, my favourites also include Jessica Chastain in Giorgio Armani, Sally Field in Valentino, Stacy Keibler in Naeem Khan, Nicole Kidman in L’Wren Scott, Jennifer Garner in Gucci,and  Naomi Watts in Armani Prive. The long column thing was working for me last night.  Damn, those ladies really rocked it.

On the other end, there were three women whose looks I wasn’t entirely crazy about. I’m just gonna jump right in and say it: Anne Hathaway in Prada, Kristen Stewart in Reem Acra, and Catherine Zeta-Jones in Zuhair Murad. Although I like Stewart’s dress in theory, it was not flattering on her nor did it look like it fit. CZJ looked great (the woman is 43!), but I felt that her dress made her look like she was trying way too hard to be young and/or J.Lo. And then we have Hathaway. Here are my issues: girl, I know that it was darts on front of that dress, but it really looked like your nipples were out and proud. Second, the necklace/neckline combo did not work for me on any level and I really didn’t like the (lack of) colour. However, she made Vogue’s best dressed list, so what do I know?

What did you think? Any stunners that I missed? Was I too hard on Annie? Let me know!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

