Snap Happy Advice

In the last year I’ve owned three compact digital cameras. I’m not a careless person, but 2010 was a terrible year for me and electronics (a few cell phones met their demise along with the cameras). I’ve decided that it’s far enough into 2011 that I can safely purchase a new one, but I want to take a completely different route. Small, cheapish cameras are great for taking quick pics when going out with friends or having brews at Oktoberfest, but I’ve been craving one with a little more heft that I can take some great shots with. I’d really like to start posting my own photos in addition to showcasing those of others.

Here’s where you come in, dear reader: I don’t know what I should be looking for. I’m thinking a Nikon, but I have no idea what kind of specs/lenses/gadgets I should spring for and which ones are far too advanced for my photography skills and objective.

What do you use? Do you have any suggestions for a good starter camera?

 

3 thoughts on “Snap Happy Advice

  1. Sara White says:

    I’d recommend the Canon Digital Rebel – it has excellent photo quality, the price is extremely reasonable, and it’s still small and light enough to slip into a purse without adding too much weight or bulk. Skip the two “kit” lenses though (the 18-55mm and 55-200mm zooms) – they’re cheaply made and absolutely awful in any kind of low light condition – and go with a 50mm lens instead. They’re great in low light (so you won’t need a flash), they shoot sharper images, and the aperture allows you to get photos with that gorgeously blurred background that the kit lenses just can’t capture.

  2. google says:

    Kimmal and outline basic but seldom know procedures that avoid intense SEO.
    Naturally, you cant combine a Google Adwords promotional code with
    another promotional code or any other offer from Google.
    If there is already lots of Google Adsense put into tht certain site, put yours on top of
    all of them.

Leave a Reply

