Profile Not Complete

Don’t get me wrong, LinkedIn is a great tool for professionals in the modern business world. As a commerce student I created my account just over a year ago and have steadily been adding to my profile, joining groups and building my online network. However, every time I login there’s an annoying little bar on the right of my screen reminding me that my profile is not yet complete.

According to LinkedIn the following components make up a complete profile:

  • Your current position
  • Two past positions
  • Your education
  • Your profile summary
  • A profile photo
  • Your specialties
  • At least three recommendations

I’m at 90% on that little bar, the only thing my profile is currently lacking is an abundance of recommendations (I have one). The problem is that most of the people who I would ask for a recommendation from aren’t on LinkedIn. I’ve searched for past supervisors with no avail- you’d think that I’d be able to connect with at least one of my five managers at Earls, but that’s just not the case.  LinkedIn, as with any other social network, is only as good as the people who use it. If people aren’t joining there’s only so far you can go with making connections and using the site as it was intended.

Will my former supervisors eventually get on LinkedIn? Will I ever have a complete profile? Questions for the ages…

 

5 thoughts on “Profile Not Complete

  1. Eden Dearing says:

    It upsets me to no end that I never seem to be able to complete my profile. I think it wants minimum three recommendations. Sigh. So much torment.

  2. michelabyl says:

    The recommendations are killing me! One of my old managers finally joined, but I’ve been waiting for about a month for him to confirm that I know him.
    It’s not just people getting on there, but also having them actually use it more than once every couple of months.
    One day!

  3. dougbrowncreative says:

    I wouldn’t worry about this. You and Eden will both have careers filled with recommendations. I can’t think of any reasonable employer who would dock for you not having them before your careers begin. Make sure you get them from your current co-op positions in writing and ask if you can make them public. Then write a blog post including them and link to that using your profile.

    Or just keep knocking them dead in your interviews.

  4. michelabyl says:

    Great advice Doug. Thanks for the kind words!

  5. Eden Dearing says:

    Many thanks, Doug! And as always, really great advice. I know both Michela and I appreciate it tremendously.

Leave a Reply

