Are You Making Ens Meat?

Every morning while I eat my breakfast (peanut butter and bananas on toast today, thank you for asking) I peruse the Calgary Herald and more often than not, end up at the comics. They’re usually good for an internal smile or two, but rarely do I actually laugh or point one out to who ever I’m sitting with (often just the dog). Monday morning was a completely different story. F Minus is written by Tony Carrillo and here’s the little gem that caught my eye:

Funny right? Maybe not for all, but I went through a very similar epiphany about a month ago and so I though this was hilarious. There have been a number of phrases that I had been saying wrong until seeing them in writing or having them pointed out to me, so I completely identified with this comic. Below are three of the more embarrassing (and hilarious) things I thought I was saying right:

  1. Nipping it in the bud vs. Nipping it in the butt

A minor mistake that I was still making before two of my friends corrected me (after laughing, of course) over blackberry messenger in January. Yes, this January. As my friend Eden put it “No Michela, nipping it in the butt is something else”

  1. Prima donna vs. Pre-Madonna

I always thought this referred to someone acting like a diva a la the original material girl, rather than a reference to opera singers wanting to be the center of attention.

  1. Making ends meet vs. Making ens meat

I have no idea why, but for the longest time (seriously, I think I finally figured this one out a couple of years ago) I thought this phrase was talking about making this thing called “ens meat”. In my mind, ens meat was what you had when you had enough money, were able to pay the bills, etc. So rather than your “ends meeting” you were making this figurative “meat” and because of it were doing all right financially. Apparently this is not correct…

Are there any phrases that you unknowingly butchered for years? (please tell me I’m not the only one!)

 

4 thoughts on “Are You Making Ens Meat?

  1. Evan Horgan says:

    hahaha, I love the post Mic!!!! I can’t think off the top of my head which phrases I have butchered, but I am sure there are some! This gave me a good internal smile at work!
    <3

  2. michelabyl says:

    Thanks Ev! So stoked to know I teased a smile out of you (and that I’m not the only one to butcher the English language)!

  3. Andrew Hall says:

    I posted a reply to this from my phone and I guess it never came true!

    “Up and Adam” is the only one I remember right now, thanks Blackberry!

Leave a Reply

